Awards and Honors

Gadikota article selected as PCCP HOT article

Greeshma Gadikota, associate professor (CEE), had her article, “Mechanistic Insights into the Co-Recovery of Energy Critical Metals via Integrated Carbon Mineralization of Serpentinized Peridotite by Harnessing Organic Ligands,” selected as a 2024 Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics (PCCP) HOT article.

Bindel inducted into 2024 Class of SIAM Fellows

David Bindel, professor (CS), is being inducted into the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics’ 2024 Class of SIAM Fellows. Bindel is being recognized for contributions in numerical linear algebra and its innovative use in broad areas of computational science and engineering.

MAE's Ulibarri awarded 51 Pegasi b Fellowship

Zach Ulibarri, postdoc (MAE, Petro Group), was awarded  a Heising-Simons Foundation 51 Pegasi b Fellowship. The three-year postdoctoral fellowship provides recipients with resources, freedom and flexibility to conduct theoretical, observational and experimental research in planetary astronomy. Ulibarri is spearheading methods of minimizing damage to delicate building blocks of life when detecting organic chemistry on icy worlds.

Nishimura inducted into AIMBE College of Fellows

The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) has announced the induction of Nozomi Nishimura, associate professor (BME), to its College of Fellows. Election to the AIMBE College of Fellows is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to medical and biological engineers, comprised of the top two percent of engineers in these fields.

Ferrari receives Raymond Corp. research grant

Silvia Ferrari, John Brancaccio Professor (MAE) and associate dean for cross-campus engineering research, received a Raymond Corporation University Research Program grant for her proposal "Real-time Mixed Human-Robot Teaming using Digital Twins."

CBE's Selivanovitch selected for CAS Future Leaders program

Ekaterina Selivanovitch, postdoctoral associate (CBE), was selected for the 2024 CAS Future Leaders program. The unique program provides early-career scientists with leadership training and connections to peers from around the world. CAS is a division of the American Chemical Society.

You, Ajagekar paper highly cited

Fengqi You, Roxanne E. and Michael J. Zak Professor in Energy Systems Engineering (CBE, Systems), and Akshay Ajagekar, Ph.D. student (Systems), had their paper “Energy-efficient AI-based Control of Semi-closed Greenhouses Leveraging Robust Optimization in Deep Reinforcement Learning” recognized as a 2024 Highly Cited Paper Awards by Advances in Applied Energy.

Wen Sun receives Early CAREER Award

Wen Sun, assistant professor (CS), has received an NSF Early CAREER Award for his proposal, “Towards Real-world Reinforcement Learning.”

CS' Bhattacharjee nominated for best paper award

Tapomayukh Bhattacharjee, assistant professor (CS), and his team had their work on robot-assisted inside-mouth bite transfer nominated for Best Paper Award at HRI 2024.

Mehta wins Sloan Research Fellowship

Karan Mehta, assistant professor (ECE), won a 2024 Sloan Research Fellowship from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. Mehta and his lab aim to further deploy such techniques in systems to realize high-fidelity, error-corrected quantum states enabling fault-tolerant quantum computing. These systems may enable deeper insights in areas such as quantum chemistry and simulation, and quantum foundations.